How to install and adjust U brake calipers, commonly found on BMX and freestyle bicycles, as well as some vintage

Questions or comments? Leave them below!

See all our Rim Brake videos in our Rim Brake playlist ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLGCTGpvdT04Re5yrxKOVg1yjuollLGDwZ

Video contents:
00:41 Tools Needed
01:10 Caliper Installation
02:56 Pad Adjustment
07:33 Cable Attachment
10:42 Set Pad Clearance
11:51 Centering
13:01 Trim & Cap Cable

➤ Tools & materials used:
• Park Tool Hex & Torx® Compatible Tools – http://www.parktool.com/category/hex-torx-compatible-tools
• TW-5.2 Ratcheting Click Type Torque Wrench – http://www.parktool.com/product/ratcheting-click-type-torque-wrench-tw-5-2
• SBS-1.2 Socket & Bit Set – http://www.parktool.com/product/socket-and-bit-set-sbs-1-2
• ST-3 3-Way Socket Wrench – http://www.parktool.com/product/3-way-socket-wrench-st-3
• BT-2 Cable Stretcher – http://www.parktool.com/product/cable-stretcher-bt-2
• Park Tool Cone Wrenches – http://www.parktool.com/product/shop-cone-wrench-set-scw-set-3
• CN-10 Professional Cable And Housing Cutter – http://www.parktool.com/product/professional-cable-and-housing-cutter-cn-10
• PPL-1 Polylube 1000 Lubricant – http://www.parktool.com/product/polylube-1000-lubricant-tube-ppl-1
• Rags

For a text-based walk-through of this process: http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help/u-brake-service

➤ Subscribe: https://www.youtube.com/user/parktoolcompany?sub_confirmation=1
➤ Like: https://www.facebook.com/parktool
➤ Follow: https://www.instagram.com/parktoolblue

➤ Fix It:
Did you know that Park Tool is the #1 resource for bicycle repair education?
• Visit our YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/parktool
• Visit the Repair Help section of Parktool.com: http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help/
• Check out The Big Blue Book of Bicycle Repair: http://www.parktool.com/product/big-blue-book-of-bicycle-repair-3rd-edition-bbb-3

➤ About Park Tool:
Since our founding in 1963, Park Tool has been the leading name in bicycle tools. Our YouTube channel is an extension of our mission to be the ultimate resource for mechanics and riders of all skill levels. Here you will find comprehensive repair help tutorials for a wide range of components and processes, as well as troubleshooting guides, tips and tricks, and information on the latest Park Tool products.

➤ More Rim Brake Repair Help:
• Guide to Rim Brakes ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qWtM5c-X0gM
• How to Replace Brake Pads on a Bike ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JpJrslWIUxM
• Brake Lever Mounting & Positioning – Drop Bars ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=geSok-YQN-U
• Brake Lever Mounting & Positioning – Upright Bars ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZJdqJDrs60
• Brake Housing & Cable Installation – Drop Bars ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oL82JM7H2Bw
• Brake Housing & Cable Installation – Upright Bars ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xg5MrDgLhHI
• Bicycle Rim Brake Identification – What Type of Brake Do I Have? ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6ANuieQR4w
• Brake Caliper Mounting & Adjustment – Dual Pivot ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q4ay12CSF48
• Brake Caliper Mounting & Adjustment – Side Pull ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOrIVc5lG-k
• Brake Caliper Mounting & Adjustment – Center Pull ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iJeYSKUI-6A
• Brake Caliper Mounting & Adjustment – Linear Pull & V Brake ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMa9UqY9obk
• Brake Caliper Mounting & Adjustment – Cantilever Threaded Post ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FvFira2dAPY
• Brake Caliper Mounting & Adjustment – Cantilever Smooth Post ▶︎ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_tDym0G6zo