Round 2, Day 3

The two finalists of the open event will qualify for the 2022 FIDE Candidates Tournament, while the three best players of the women’s competition will get spots in the FIDE Women’s Candidates Tournament. The top seed in the open section is World Champion Magnus Carlsen, and the top seed in the women’s tournament is Aleksandra Goryachkina.

All matches consist of two classical games and, in case of a tie, a playoff that takes place on the third day. The tiebreak consists of two 25+10 rapid games followed, if needed, by two 10+10 ‘slow blitz’ games, then two 5+3 blitz games, and finally an Armageddon game, in which White has 5 minutes to Black’s 4, but a draw counts as a win for Black.

FIDE is providing two live commentary feeds, one for the open event and one for the women’s event. Rounds start at 14.00 CEST (12.00 UT, 08.00 ET).


Full schedule

Pairings and results: Open | Women’s

All games with computer analysis: Open | Women’s

Previous reports: R1D1 | R1D2 | R1D3 | R2D1 R2D2


Live games and commentary

Open

 

Commentary by GMs Nigel Short and GM Evgeny Miroshnichenko

Women’s

 

Commentary by GM Aleksandr Shimanov


Links